Inaugural Women and Diversity in Law UK awards nominations now open

15 Aug 2022 , 6:35pm

30 award categories recognise exceptional individuals and teams making the UK legal profession more diverse and inclusive

The Luxury Law Alliance's sister company The Global Legal Post has launched the Women & Diversity in Law Awards to celebrate the achievements of the people, teams and businesses helping to make the UK legal sector more diverse and inclusive.

Nominations are now open for the awards, which will take place in London on 22 March.

The awards set out to recognise those who are dedicating their professional careers to moving the DE&I needle or using their positions of influence to help facilitate change.

They will showcase the role models who are inspiring people from under-represented groups and the initiatives that are making a difference. In so doing the awards will provide a forum for the sharing of ideas and best practices.

A judging panel is being assembled from across the profession to choose the finalists and winners and inform the awards process. Confirmed judges include:

  • Annabel Dumbell, managing director, litigation and dispute management; global I&D lead,
    Accenture Legal
  • Dame Janet Gaymer, board member, Business Banking Resolution Service
  • Dana Denis-Smith, founder the First 100 Years, chief executive, Obelisk Support
  • Julia Chain, chair, Human Fertilisation & Embryology Authority
  • Justin D’Agostino, chief executive, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Lara Oyesanya, group general counsel and company secretary, WorldRemit
  • Nankunda Katangaza, director, Hook Tangaza
  • Rachel Chan, 42 Bedford Row

Click here to view the judging panel 

The awards process is designed to unearth as diverse a group of people, teams and businesses as possible. Individuals are encouraged to nominate themselves and others across the range of categories. The same applies to legal teams and businesses. Making a nomination could not be more simple, and will only take a few minutes. Click here for more details

The deadline for nominations is Friday 23 September. Once all the nominees have been identified, they will be contacted and invited to submit entries. The judges will then select the finalists and winners.

Make a nomination

The awards are divided into two sections. The first part will showcase the inspirational contribution women are making to the profession.

The second section addresses diversity more broadly, seeking to highlight the initiatives and individuals that are making a difference across different strands of diversity, namely: age and life stage; disability; faith; gender equality; LGBT+; mental health and wellbeing; race equality; and social mobility. There is also a category focused on environmental sustainability in recognition of its close relationship with diversity.

View the full list of categories

The awards welcome partnerships with not-for-profit organisations focused on DE&I within the legal profession.

For partnership enquiries, or questions about the awards process, email

For sponsorship enquiries contact

More information about the awards:

The awards are open to organisations operating in the legal sector in the UK including law firms, barristers’ chambers, legal departments, suppliers and not for profits. The event is open to those working in any capacity in the legal sector, so long as they meet the category criteria. Individual nominees must work in the UK.

People are encouraged to nominate themselves, as well as others.

These awards recognise achievements in the period after October 2021.  For more information about the awards, categories and the submission process, visit the Women and Diversity in Law website.

More details about the nomination process include:

Nominations open: 21 July

  • You can either nominate yourself (which we strongly encourage) or someone else. You can also nominate teams and organisations, either yours, or others that you admire.
  • The nomination form asks you for simple details about the person, team or organisation you are nominating so that we can reach out to them once nominations have finished.
  • It is also possible to submit a short statement in support of your nomination.
  • You have the option for your name not to be disclosed to the nominee

Nominations deadline: 23 September 5pm

Nominate Now

 Call for entries: 30 September

  • Once nominations have closed, all the nominees will be contacted and asked to complete an online questionnaire in order to progress to the judging round.
  • The questions will be carefully tailored for each category to guide the nominees through their submissions.
  • Although each category will vary a common theme will be a requirement for
    • Evidence of outstanding achievement supported where relevant by metrics and/or testimonials
    • The story of how success was achieved, including what worked and the lessons learned when obstacles were met and then surmounted
    • Team working and collaboration
    • Alignment with the principles of sustainable development.

Entry deadline: 11 November

Shortlist announced: 4 January

Winners announced: 21 March

  • The winners will be unveiled at the awards ceremony.